Authors for Nepal

em and two girls

Last summer my daughter went to teach in a school in Kathmandu. I freaked out over Japanese encephalitis, rabies, malaria, food poisoning, loneliness, smog – I  worried about everything. I even posted her a food parcel ( it never arrived). One thing I wasn’t too worried about was earthquakes. It’s just not really on our agenda to worry about earthquakes, is it? I mean, I checked the foreign office website but they didn’t say ‘don’t travel, earthquake imminent’. And daughter didn’t tell me about the earthquake drills they had when they arrived. I was blind to that particular risk. I just assumed she’d be safe from major natural disasters.

And she was.

Girls from HVP Central

But she might not have been.

Had my beautiful, kind, feisty, funny, brilliant daughter been there a few months later, she might have been caught up in the devasting trauma the country is now suffering from.  My daughter, and all her wonderfulness, is safe. But there are other daughters and sons and mothers and brothers and uncles and cousins and sisters who are not.

10580153_10152288089959646_6756006394616404216_n

Thankfully, despite a nearby temple being completely destroyed, the children and staff of HPV Central are fine, for now. They are amazing and resilient  people but they are living in devastation. They need water and sanitation. They need to clear up. They need our help. They need your money.

You can give to the charity that my daughter worked for last year, HVP Nepal.

You can give to the Disasters Emergency Committee

Or you could consider bidding on one of the Authors For Nepal offers. Mine is for a character name in my book, plus a signed copy of More of Me, plus an interview on this blog. Please have a look and consider bidding . All the money will go to help people in need in Nepal – I’ll even pay the ebay fees . There are lots of other offers there too – some for mentoring, some for signed books – all sorts of authory things.

UPDATE12/05/15: The BBC are reporting another serious earthquake to the East of Kathmandu

UPDATE 16/05/15: Authors for Nepal have rasied over £10,000 thank you, thank you! Keep at it, my offer ends in 10 hours.

The problems have not gone away. Please help, even if you just share this post.

Thank you.

9 Comments Add yours

    1. V. Kathryn Evans says:

      Thank you!

    1. V. Kathryn Evans says:

      Thank you so much – it’s so so awful

  1. Bekki Hill says:

    Reblogged this on The Creativity Cauldron and commented:
    I was planning on abandoning Wordless Wednesday this week and blogging about Authors for Nepal. However, when I found Kathryn Evans post it was so heart felt, I decided to remain wordless and reblog it to let her tell you about Authors for Nepal in a more eloquent way than I ever would. Please read and help even, as Kathryn says, if only by reblogging her post.

    1. V. Kathryn Evans says:

      Thank you – it’s just heartbreaking listening to the interviews 😦

  2. Thanks for sharing this. I am so glad your daughter is well. The situation is heart- breaking, and it is so important to help and to raise awareness. Take care.

Leave a Reply

