I am not Dyslexic.

Thanks to Maureen Lynas for the Pciture :)
Thanks to Maureen Lynas for the Picture 🙂

I feel the need to come clean. Many of you who are friends with me on Facebook and Twitter think that I’m dyslexic. I make an unimaginable  number of typos when I dash off a reply or a status update in the few seconds I have to spare while dropping in to have a quick chat. Quite a few people have commented on my dyslexia. I am so, so sorry. I am not dyslexic. I am lazy. Even before typing, my fingers wrote things wrong. I  spinout words as fast as my brain can conjure them and my fingers can’t keep up. Then, instead of checking what I’ve typed/written/scrawled, I press send and litter the internet with the wordy mess my brain has spewed out.

I know a lot of people with dyslexia. They are infinitely more careful than me in their postings. In many cases, I suspect you wouldn’t know they are dyslexic, so careful are they.

My accountant once  told me he’d be suspicious of any email purporting to be from me, but without any typos. I am a disgrace.

I hang my head in shame. I am an afront to all people with a genuine problem.

Sadly, I can’t see matters changing in the near future. Sorry about that. I will try but, you know…lazy.

For those of you who don’t know what I’m tlakiogn about ( oooo, that was a good one) here is an uncreected selection of this post:

I feel the need to come clea. Many of you whoe are friends of mine of facenook and Twitter think that I’m dyslexic. I make an unimaginabel numebr of typos when I dash of a reply or a stauts update in teh few seconds I have to spare whiel droppping in for a quick chat…..I mano dysalexic, I am a diosgarece.

Sorry. Sorry. Sorry. Please feel free to poke me with sticks.

14 Comments Add yours

  1. K.M.Lockwood says:

    Stick at the ready, hun!

  2. Oh you make me laugh! It’s so true – you are worse that the Guardian! Will beat you next time I see you.

    1. V. Kathryn Evans says:

      I deserve it!

  3. Janet Foxley says:

    I sympathise. My typing is terrible. I have Word set up to autocorrect but I’m for ever editing FB posts. And no,dyslexic spelling doesn’t look anything like typos. I have edited three typos before posting this.

    1. V. Kathryn Evans says:

      I am not alone! But you do always tidy yours up, I’d never have known!

  4. Bekki Hill says:

    How many times do I need to tell you, you’re not lazy you’re busy.
    As a dyslexic, one gets paranoid about people thinking you’re stupid because you can’t spell, so yes, us dyslexics take waste a lot of time checking spellings.

    1. V. Kathryn Evans says:

      You’re like my own personal support group Bekki xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  5. I’m with your accountant – if I ever received anything from you without typos I’d be suspicious – or worried. Mind you, I’ve had my moments too – but I blame predictive text. Uh-huh.

    1. V. Kathryn Evans says:

      I dont’ think I’ve ever seen a typo laden missive from you Nicky – the odd blip maybe….:)

      1. Bekki Hill says:

        I once called Nicky a Pea Brain in an email because I was using speech to text – I think she’s forgiven me.

  6. penny bush says:

    I think you should probably send flowers and chocolates to your copy editor.

    1. V. Kathryn Evans says:

      i think you’re right. And probably wine. Lots and lots of wine.

  7. V. Kathryn Evans says:

    That’s so funny Bekki and Nicky – any one less like a pea brain is hard to imagine – am sure she’s forgiven you x

Leave a Reply

