You and Meme: The Next Big Thing

Can I just say The Next Big Thing is not my title, it is the title of this meme , which, for those that don’t know ( like I didn’t) is a sort of spiral of  connected internetty posts. No. I do not feel any thing about me is The Next Big Thing.  Far more The Current Very Small Thing, apart from  my cake stuffed tummy.

And can I also say – thank you  Addy Farmer and Gillian Philip for tagging me – it’s great to have a sneaky peak at what you’re up to – and I’m sorry that I’m slightly cheating, and failing, in tagging onward, but more of that later.

What is the working title of your book? It’s called Twist.

Where did the idea come from for the book? I always loved the story of the little old man with three wishes who ends up with nothing because he wishes he had a sausage, then his wife wishes it was stuck on the end of his nose and they then have to wish it off again. From there and that fabulous question , ‘What would happen if…?’
What genre does your book fall under? Oh lordy, I don’t know – magical realism I suppose.  There’s no vampires in it. That may be a mistake.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition? Oooo!  Tiger Drew Honey would have to be Hugh – but who would be Beth… Oh I know!  Imogen Poots.  Actually, she might be a tad too old, sorry Imogen – she needs to be 16…

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?  I’m hopeless at these. A careful what you wish for story laced with dark humour – think Georgia Nicholson plonked in a rather nasty fairy tale.
Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency? My agent is Sophie Hicks at Ed Victor Ltd.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? About two years. Maybe longer.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre? I’m not very good at defining genres,  I just like books, all sorts. I quite often eat pudding before dinner too. I’m that kind of girl.
Who or What inspired you to write this book? When I was younger I honestly believed I had the power to wish things into being – and it was never good things. I blamed myself for the Falklands Crisis – genuinely. I know. Nuts. Anyway, I wrote that story a long time ago and the wonderful editor Beverley Birch read it. She was really kind, because it was really rubbish and she took time to send me a detailed reply. One of the things she said  was ‘What if that character hadn’t imagined she could wish, what if she really could…’
What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest? You need more? Well, it’s funny but I also hope it’ll make you cry; it’s a tiny bit crazy in places. And there’s a cat. And snogging. And boys taking their shirts off.  And shopping. And chocolate cake. Genuinely.

And now I get to tag some one else. I asked a lot of authors if they’d take part but so many had already posted, or were at a delicate stage in their WIP and didn’t want to share, or thought this was a chain letter of evil ( crikey, I hope not or I am about to die a horrible death) that I sort of gave up and instead  chose to link back to the marvellous Gillian Philip.  I know,  she’s already posted but I’M SO EXCITED about her post I think I am entirely justified.

Gillian is the author of seventeen-ish books for children and young adults. She writes mainly crime and fantasy, but has also ghostwritten as Gabriella Poole (Darke Academy), Erin Hunter (Survivors) and Adam Blade (Beast Quest). She blogs irregularly at http://www.verybadwolf.com, has a website at http://www.gillianphilip.com and tweets as @Gillian_Philip.

If you haven’t read Gillian’s  Rebel Angel series then you’re in for a treat.  Seriously. Go buy Firebrand , catch up with all of them in time for this:

http://www.gillianphilip.com/2012/11/the-next-big-thing/comment-page-1/#comment-83

Other great posts are: Keren David’s and the Slushpile. Enjoy 🙂

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Brilliant post, Kathy! And if I may say, to anyone reading this, Twist is brilliant! It’s fun, it’s scary, it’s mad, it’s serious, it’s romantic and it makes you stop and think. What more could you possibly want? Other than cake, that is. Or chocolate.

  2. Lesley Moss says:

    It sounds delicious! Look forward to reading it, Kathy.

  3. V. Kathryn Evans says:

    Thank you!!!!

  4. Di Toft says:

    Twist sounds right up my street – brilliant title too. Look forward to reading it.

Leave a Reply

