SCBWI – Is it worth the joining fee?

In a word, Yes.

Becky Earl posted on the SCBWI facebook wall asking this question: Will joining SCBWI help me get published?

Well that I can’t answer but I do know a lot of writers who have been published since joining.  Here are three very different, newly published  SCBWI writers:

Slated

If this book isn’t made into a film I’ll eat my hat. It’s classic high-concept with perfect marketing opportunities! I can imagine everyone will want a sympathy LEVO  – well done Teri Terry. ( I  had a sneaky preview copy but you can pre-order on Amazon)

Someone Else's Life

Katie Dale’s novel had me in tears, tenderly written on a difficult subject , it’s a fabulous debut.

Fifteen Days Without a Head

I heartily recommend Dave Cousin’s first novel – a  tough story told with humour and pathos – truly terrific – like a toughed up Jaqueline Wilson for boys. And girls. And grown women.

Is it worth joining SCBWI? If you get nothing else out of it you’ll meet some fantastic writers. And hey, Becky Earl, someone already blogged about you and you haven’t even joined yet!

10 Comments Add yours

  1. I think that the experience of watching other SCBWI members honing their writing skills and eventually getting published is extremely valuable – you learn that it is harder than you could possibly have imagined but is achievable. It is worth more than the joining fee for this lesson alone.
    And it is thrilling to see new talent emerging – well done Terri, Dave and Katie!

    1. V. Kathryn Evans says:

      My feelings exactly.

  2. Dave Cousins says:

    I recommend SCBWI to anybody I meet who is serious about writing or illustrating for children. A nicer, more supportive bunch would be hard to find. Thanks for the mention, Kathryn. Someone Else’s Life is on top of my books to read pile and I’m looking forward to getting a copy of Slated – a much anticipated debut! Scooby-dooby-doo! (sorry …)

    1. V. Kathryn Evans says:

      You said what we were all thinking ;o)

  3. What Candy said, plus Yes, Absolutely, Definitely Yes.

  4. Barmy_Bex says:

    Thanks! that’s cool. 😀 I am definitely going to join. You’ve all been so supportive it seems like a great community. 😀

    1. V. Kathryn Evans says:

      Yay! It is and we are :o) Which region will you be in? Usually worth getting in touch with your local co-ordinator to find out what’s going on near you too.

  5. Teri Terry says:

    Aw, shucks!!
    And being a Scooby is the BEST :O)

Leave a Reply

