Why I hate the wind.

Chalk Lane, 3rd Jan 2012

Wind is the weather that frightens me most. I have cowered in a caravan while wind has rocked it like a demented mother.  I have stood paralysed while a tornado blackened the sky and ripped its dark path though one greenhouse after another. I have held my breath in the after calm,  shocked by the devastation, fearful of its return and grateful that things were not much, much worse.

Yesterday the sky blackened once more.

Beloved  knew it was coming. Winds had been forecast , and they were already high, but he’d also had a phone call from Father-in-Law, who lives a couple of hours away, warning us a line squall had passed over his place and was heading our way.

I was working on the end of year report when it hit. My computer switched off. The power was out. In a heartbeat the gusting wind outside changed to a tearing, rain lashed storm force 10. Fence panels and gas canisters blew past my office window. My first thought was for the children.

Safe at school. Solid, brick built, sturdy school.

But  where was Beloved? I threw my coat on and battled outside. The rain was tidal, lashing in horizontal waves, the wind threatened to tip me over. I struggled to keep hold of the farm office door but he was there, and safe.

Narrow escape for the greenhouse

‘I’m scared.’ I said.

‘I know.’ He said.


We clambered through the fallen trees that blocked the track and pushed through the rain to check  the greenhouse. Some of the guttering had been torn free but it hadn’t smashed into the glass.  I ran on, turned the corner expecting to see upturned caravans, the farm camp looked intact. All seemed Ok until we saw the tunnels on Horse Field. Plastic flapped like the wing of some huge, distressed bird. Metal was buckled and flattened. The wind billowed under remaining covers, sheering  rope and threatening more damage. Beloved ran to the rope store. As rain washed  our faces and wind tugged tearing rope burns into our hands,  we lashed down the plastic and saved at least some of the metal work.

Crushed metalwork
Blown out glass

The wind eased, the sky cleared.

We headed out to the road. Trees blocked it in both directions. So much devastation in just 30 seconds.

‘I’ll get the chainsaw.’ Said Beloved.

That's my man.
Power or no power, homework can always be done.
But you might have to share your desk space.

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Clur says:

    Oh no, what a mess no wonder you were frightened. Lets hope you can get it all ship shape again soon and lets be thankful nobody was hurt.
    PS i hate the wind too! Xx

  2. Nancy says:

    So sorry, thank God you’re all okay. Thank you for documenting – something creative out of destruction. And because we want to share it in some way with you. xxx.

    1. V. Kathryn Evans says:

      It could have been so much worse – two men died yesterday – frightening.

  3. kmlockwood says:

    I’m so glad you and your various lovelies are all in one piece. I did worry about you yesterday when that big bully of a wind tried to push me over (not easily done) and settled for snatching my hat off.
    As Nancy said, bravo for creating good prose out of a horrid event.

  4. Jeannette says:

    Poor you! There’s been awful devastion around here too and one of the sad deaths was far too close to home. I did hear something almost funny today though. Apparently one local family had the large trampoline and safety netting that was bolted to the decking outside the house, ripped up (complete with decking) and deposited at the top of tree where it is now hanging precariously over the road. No one was hurt and I’m sure it’s all covered by insurance but the image of a trampoline and safety netting at the top of a tree is just too good. I’m hoping to find a photo and if so will post it.

    1. V. Kathryn Evans says:

      Oh my! Yes I heard about the poor man in his van :o( Thought of you and your fellow TWellian

  5. Yikes! That’s terrifying! So glad you are all okay. Sounds like the whole of the UK is having awful weather at the moment – stay safe, see!
    Beautiful and vivid writing, by the way! 🙂 xx

  6. Jan Carr says:

    I’m so sorry for all your damage.
    but so glad everyone ok.
    Hope you haven’t lost too much
    x

  7. Chris and Ann Evans says:

    Message from auntie Ann & Uncle Chris

    Hope you get things sorted quickly. Glad no one was hurt.

    xx

  8. V. Kathryn Evans says:

    Thanks all – it’ll be Ok – just more work than we’d hoped at this time of year…always something!

  9. Oh my that looks terrible. Keep safe you guys.

  10. I’m glad you guys are safe. Stay safe please.

    1. V. Kathryn Evans says:

      Trying too! So far all ok and they’ve revised the forecast down – think all will be well. Ridiculous how nervous I get in the wind!

Leave a Reply

