Bookshops are Dangerous places

Miriam signing my book before nipping off on a whirlwind tour of radio and tv stations.

This is going to have to be the world’s fastest blog post as I am supposed to be painting the bathroom in the harvest manager’s house before he comes back next week.  I sneaked off this morning, to the Hayling Island Bookshop where Miriam Halalmy was signing copies of Hidden. It was a low key event , unlike her fabulous launch in London that I failed to make (frequent readers of this blog will know this is not unusual, me being a hermit and the chain to the farm being about a foot long).

So, all over excited at getting out for an hour, I arrived early.

FATAL MISTAKE.

Me, in a bookshop, with time. Bad. Especially one with such a fantastic teen selection. Luckily I had read an awful lot of the books on display because an awful lot of them were by fellow SCBWI members – including, of course, the book I had gone there to buy: Miriam Halalmy’s HIDDEN. If you haven’t heard of SCBWI and you are a writer or illustrator of children’s fiction you really should check it out – the third, fabulous Undiscovered Voices competition is launched TODAY for unagented , unpublished writers in the UK. It has helped launch the careers of many of my writing buddies:

Candy Gourlay, Jon Mayhew, Sarwat Chadda, Bryony Pearce, Harriet Goodwin, Steve Hartley, Nick Cross, Dave Cousins, Mariam Vossough, Sara Grant and more….

Undiscovered Voices - a collection of fiction from members of SCBWI British Isles

Do it, join to day, submit to the competition – who knows where it could lead!

Oh look at me, sidetracked AGAIN. You see , this is exactly what happened in the book shop and exactly what caused the terrible shopping accident.   To make things worse, Beloved came in before I had a chance to hide  my stash,

‘Got enough books there Kath?’

‘Urm,’  I had to think quickly, ‘It was an accident, they fell in my bag.’

Bookshops are Dangerous Places.

See?

Oops.

 

12 Comments Add yours

  1. And I thought I was bad… Clearly we are Book Sisters! xx

    1. V. Kathryn Evans says:

      You are bad and we are definitely book sisters!

  2. And I thought I was bad… Clearly we are Book Soul Sisters! xx

  3. Keren David says:

    Oooh..Exposure is fabulous. I just had a mini book-buying binge without leaving my desk…The Bride’s Farewell and Prisoner of the Inquisition straight to my kindle…

    1. V. Kathryn Evans says:

      Eek – that’s even more dangerous – you don’t even have to carry them home!

  4. Keren David says:

    When I say desk I, of course, mean dining table covered with other people’s stuff, would be lovely to have an actual desk.

    1. V. Kathryn Evans says:

      LOL!

  5. Me, too! I love bookshops and browsing the internet for tomes. I am currently selling some books as my cottage is fit to burst. Enjoy your reads…no one can get enough!

  6. Unfortunately, our local children’s bookshop closed a few years ago, but I have this same experience every time I go in the libray, even if I’m only dashing in to take books back, I can’t help having a quick look and next thing I know, I’m staggering out. But I do love taking my pile of books out of my bag when I get home.

    Enjoy your reading!

  7. Addy Farmer says:

    Ha! Well done for making it out! Was trying to read your selection and didn’t recognise the bottom one – what is it?
    I’ve just ordered a load from AMazon. I’m very excited. Happy reading!

  8. V. Kathryn Evans says:

    Ah, that was a gift from the bookshop owner – a world book night book – Rachel’s Holiday by Marian Keyes :O)

  9. Addy Farmer says:

    you schmoozer, you 🙂

Leave a Reply

