Who would you invite to dinner?

Alright, it’s not very original, but the answers often say a lot about a person’s character. That’s what worried me when I discussed it with my family.

16 year old Daughter’s answer was unsurprising:  :

Stephen Fry ( soooo clever), Michael McIntyre ( sooooo funny) , Rhianna (sooooo cool)…. see? She wants to learn, she wants to be entertained but  she’s also a Topshop addict

Mine was predictable:

My mother ( who died when I was very small and I have few memories of) and Jesus ( so I could make up my own mind)…that’s me, yearning for my lost childhood, searching for the meaning of life…

Beloved’s was understandable:

Nelson and Wellington (how did they inspire such devotion)…what is leadership, how can I bottle it?

Then there was 10 year old Son.

‘Nagini.’

‘What? the snake from Harry Potter?’

‘Yes. And Voldemort. And Pontius Pilate.’

‘Why not have Pol Pot as well?’

‘Yes Paul Potts and, you know, that Sebastian and his multi-coloured raincoat.’

After I finished laughing, I began to worry.  Nagini? What the hell does that mean?

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Sarwat says:

    Imran Khan (Pakistan’s legendary cricket captain in the late 1980’s and 90’s).
    Christina Hendricks out of Mad Men. For reasons that are blatantly obvious.
    Christian Bale (also obviously, but I’d be a bit scared, to be honest).
    Though Voldomort is a great answer. Can I have another then?
    Blofeld. The party would be in his secret hide out in a volcano or on some exotic island.

    1. V. Kathryn Evans says:

      Ah yes, I’ve read your books, these all make sense and OK – Blofeld’s Island sounds cool – but Voldemort? Nope, still not getting it….

  2. Jon M says:

    Charles Dickens, it would be Christmas Dinner and he’d read A Christmas Carol…then we’d all watch the Muppets version.

    1. V. Kathryn Evans says:

      Actual Laugh Out Loud! Emily went to school in Charles Dickens old house for a while – I could just picture you in the library – ( the head’s office now) – Brilliant

  3. KMLockwood says:

    Hans and Lotte Hass to talk diving; Queen Hatshepsut to explain what it’s like being a girl Pharaoh with a beard; JRR Tolkien to recite poetry in the elven tongue and Chaucer to poke fun at the lot of them – in Middle English.
    Though I suppose Chaucer and Tolkien together would rabbit on rather.
    OK – so Susan Sto Helit and her Granddad. There’d have to be an apple for Binky.

    1. V. Kathryn Evans says:

      Now there’s a mix – i think you should have Philip Ardagh as well, for beard competition

  4. Einstein, Oliver Sacks, The Dalai Lama, Lao Tzu, Michio Kaku, and Granny Weatherwax. I, however, might be too intimidated to attend. Unless Granny brought Nanny Ogg with her – then it would be okay.

  5. Linda says:

    Oh, I’d love to meet Nanny Ogg, espcially as the meal drew to its end. She’d be up on the table dancing before pudding! Terry Pratchett ought to be there, too: I long to thank him for all the pleasure he’s given me, and he could sort out Nanny if she got too, um, boisterous. I’d also like to chat to Harry P’s friend Hermione about how she coped with the transition from her parents’ world to the magical one.

    All magical, really!

    1. V. Kathryn Evans says:

      Oh yes – Terry Pratchett….

Leave a Reply

