It’s good to be rubbish.

I want to share something with you :  I can not draw.

And I don’t care, I truly don’t. In fact, more than that, it makes me happy.

I can make stuff: clothes and curtains and giant cardboard fridges ( but they aren’t exactly right, too big , too small, too untidy)

I can fix stuff: dishwasher, children, computers ( as long as they are only moderately broken and then, so often, they break again.)

I can write: words, sentences, novels (yet the more I read the more I see my faults and rewrite and rewrite and rewrite)

All of these things I know I could do better – so I work at them, try harder,  make effort and be disappointed if I don’t quite hit the mark.

Not so with drawing.

What I see in my head NEVER translates to the page. So when I saw the fabulous sketches our SCBWI illustrators did on their very first SKETCH CRAWL I could just marvel at them. I don’t need to learn from them, because I’ll never be able to do that. I can just enjoy. So, I’m celebrating my rubbishness.

I wasn't kidding...

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Philippa says:

    I think your Rainbow Splodge Cat is delightful.
    You’re not rubbish, Mrs Bung.

  2. Judy Dyble says:

    That cat is not rubbish.
    It would look like a startled splodge if you couldn’t draw.
    So therefore, Mrs Bung, you can draw. 🙂

  3. That cat is totally brilliant. And anyway, everyone can draw, it’s just other people who can’t necessarily interpret properly! 🙂

  4. V. Kathryn Evans says:

    Ah Lol, how kind you all are and what excellent fibbers – you should be ashamed of yourselves :O)

  5. Nick Cross says:

    Well, you’re better at drawing than me! I think your cat does have a certain charm.

  6. J Clare Bell says:

    What a lovely celebration of rubbishness! (But I do actually like your cat.) We’re doing a sketch/word crawl in Birmingham in the late spring/early summer and it’ll be for absolute beginners, too. Writers will be encouraged to do some drawing -if they want to, and sketchers, to do some writing if they want to. No one has to share what they’ve done if they don’t like it. I couldn’t draw a cat as competent as your cat but I’m still going to do some sketching on the crawl and I’ll have great fun doing it.

    1. V. Kathryn Evans says:

      I think you will, the Sketch Crawls are a great idea, inspired!

  7. ninakillham says:

    Very nice cat. So if you can do that I can just imagine how well you do the other things. You say you can fix dishwashers. How are you on dryers? Mine is kaput!

    1. V. Kathryn Evans says:

      Never had to fix a dryer – I drape my washing all over the house ( am a complete tramp….)

  8. Maureen Lynas says:

    If I ever bought a cat I would want it to look exactly like that 🙂 Put him in a story, quick!
    Hm, maybe I should go on a sketchcrawl?

    1. V. Kathryn Evans says:

      He is from a bottom of the drawer story – i forgot I used to do this, sketch characters, i stopped because they are so completely not like the vision in my head it was pointless. Ellen Renner does it, hers are wonderful but she is part painter!

  9. Sue Hyams says:

    Actually, I think that’s a very fine cat! I can’t draw at all. But neither can I knit, sew, or make fridges!

  10. Nancy says:

    I LOVE your cat! and agree with all the above.
    But if you think your rubbish at it, then fine.
    It’ll keep your hat size down. x

  11. I am supposed to be able to draw. I think your cat is gorgeous and if you wanted to get into illustration children’s books you’d probably have a better chance than me.

    1. V. Kathryn Evans says:

      No , really not!

Leave a Reply

