4 Comments Add yours

  1. Laban says:

    Don’t you think that Morpurgo lays it on a bit thick in PP – in that pretty much every upper class/authority figure is either stupid, cruel and unfeeling or both? It reads like agitprop.

    (but my daughter loves it … along with the Twilight sagas)

    Reminds me of The Womens Room, where even the nice men are only presented as such to contrast with the inner bastard which they’ll inevitably reveal.

    For younger children, Blyton’s The Enchanted Wood/Magic Faraway Tree is great – my four loved them. Dreadful style, one dimensional (human) characters (not that that matters much, might even be a good thing – blank pages for children to project onto) – but her unbelievably fertile imagination makes up for the lot. If you have small children – 5,6,7 – give them a bash.

  2. Laban says:

    (the books, rather than the children)

  3. V. Kathryn Evans says:

    My daughter loved Blyton’s books – my son can’t stand them – except, at a pinch, Noddy. Agree with you about The Magic Faraway Tree was one of my favourites as a child…

    All a question of personal taste – a bit like this, because, in a way, I agree with you – I just think sometimes, it works. The Women’s Room was a mile post book for me when I was 18/19 and I have to confess, I have always had a fondness for agitprop, particularly Brecht. I think there’s a place for it.

    Private Peaceful is so much from one person’s view and his view of authority would pretty much as it is portrayed in the book. He’s a kid, he’s barely lived, and yet pretty much every terrible thing that’s happened to him has been at the hands of authority. He’s powerless, that’s what the book is about.

    How can you tone that down? I guess you can argue that if he fleshed out the “baddies” you’d have a richer book – I’d argue that you risk toning down the impact, making it less punchy, indeed limp.

    You can’t really sit Meyer next to Morpurgo, can you? I’ve got at least a Thomas More, Henry Miller, Nicola Morgan gap between them ;O)

  4. quivataigue says:

    Hi, very interesting post, greetings from Greece!

Leave a Reply

