Wide Eyed and Mushy Brained

wide eyed
The mushy brain image was too disgusting to contemplate...

So, the thing is, I am meant to be working. I’ve got a heap of  forms to fill in, elbow deep on  my desk. They all require adept handling of numbers and balancing of figures – a substantial part of my job. Should be a pushover right?

Wrong,  here’s the weird thing,   whenever I look at these particular  forms my usually lucid and moderately intelligent brain, fogs over. The gap between my ears fills with cotton wool and I can  feel my brain liquify. My eyes start to bulge and I give serious consideration to carving the front of my head off. Is this normal – is it an allergy – do other people have Mushy Brain Syndrome?

Let’s all sit in a circle and share, what gives you MBS?

7 Comments Add yours

  1. anything that involves numbers or official forms (like tax returns) will turn my brain to slush. There is only one solution. Delegate.

  2. Yep, I suffer from permanent MBS. I’ve had it since pregnancy ate my brain twenty years ago.

  3. Philippa says:

    Website design – especially when my talented No. 3 son shows me at the speed of light and then asks me to have a go.
    In front of .
    Him.

    It’s either MBS or blank terror.

  4. trying to write straight onto a computer – anything from gossipy e-mails to book reviews. end up resorting to notes on scraps of paper to copy up later.

  5. Ness Harbour says:

    I am in a permanent state of MBS, made worse by numbers and marking. I find writing to be the only cure…oh and Pimms…

  6. Benjamin Scott says:

    Feedback forms – I feel my brain leaking from my head at the first scale of 1 to 10. How can we improve our event? I don’t know… I need a lot more time to think about it to give a reasoned suggestion. Perhaps I take forms too seriously?

  7. V. Kathryn Evans says:

    am so happy I’m not alone….

Leave a Reply

