Cat or Dog?

Queen of the Garden

I’ll admit it, I am naturally a cat person. I like their pretend independence and their ability to pull up their own personal duvet and sleep anywhere. I like the way they act all indignant when you pick them up and then flop about like a baby when they think no-one else is looking. I can ignore their sadistic torturing behaviour by labelling it ‘instinct’ and turning  a blind eye because, I honestly believe, I could not live without a cat.

The same can not be said of dogs.

On no account let Rosie know I posted this picture. She will make my life HELL.
On no account let Rosie know I have posted this photo. I will be disembowelled.

When I had my first dog, dear old Murphy, he drove me so insane I had to get a cat to calm me down. The instant  Mcavity, a one toothed’ half tailed rescue moggie, moved in, my whole body relaxed.

In fact, many of the dogs I’ve known, and certainly the two I’ve owned,  have had a bewildering tendency to insanity.  Murphy disliked people in scruffy grey trousers to the point of biting them on the back side. Diesal, on the other, lunatic, hand, hates dogs.  God alone knows what Diesal thinks he is.

If he thinks at all.

Which I seriously doubt.

Diesal has broken me several times. He tore a ligament in my thigh by pulling me over a park bench. He was trying to get to  a German Shepherd Dog he fancied for  lunch. He has also broken my finger trying to eat Henry, a neighbouring,  entirely placid, sheep dog.

Wise and Morecombe.

I am pretty convinced Diesal has some kind of dog  autism. He communicates fine with people – albeit with a limited lexicon of  “bonio”, “dinner”, “outside” and a few commands he may or may not obey. Yet his entire dog vocabulary is, “I hate you, I’m going to kill you”.

The only dog Diesal ever liked was Murphy and when he died,  Diesal was bereft.

Maybe that has something to do with it? Perhaps he hates other dogs for not being Murphy.

I love him though, the irritating twit. He may drive me mad and break my fingers but he  also makes me laugh like a drain by doing things like this.

Surely, even a cat lover has to smile.

23 Comments Add yours

  1. Judy says:

    Although I voted ‘dog’, I do like cats as well, but have never owned one on account of my houses being full of budgies, canaries, zebra finches and, for a while, an (insane and unfriendly) indian ringneck parakeet..

    so that’s my excuse and I am sticking to it 🙂

  2. The voting looks like it’s rigged, but I support it entirely if it ends up in favour of dogs!

    1. V. Kathryn Evans says:

      Rigged?! *Cough , splutter* how very dare you ;O)

  3. May I say, that this question, I too, have pondered. I think cats are some of most beautiful creatures, in the world. Their faces are so entrancing, hence my various paintings of them. I am actually a little afraid of cats, maybe because I was attacked by one, when I was a child or because their behaviour can be a little unpredictable. Take my friends cat, for example; you can be stroking it, lovingly and it’s purring with delight and then next minute it sinks it’s teeth, some way into your flesh. Why do they do that? I like to watch them and see them deftly stalking a fly or beetle. I do, however, understand dogs, even ones, which have frightened the life out of me, by showing me the whites of their eyes, growling loudly or sent me hastily packing over a high garden fence. I have had one dog, called Monty and he was the most wonderful creature I have ever known. He was loving, crazy and craved our company, from the morning smile he gave us, to the mad wagging of the tail or dribbling at a tasty morsel of food, he was really part of our family. Even 28 years after his passing, we still think of him fondly.

    Most of my friends have a cat or two and when my bf and myself talk about having animals, (when we are married), we would like two dogs and a few guinea pigs. That is mainly because I’m too old to have babies!

    1. V. Kathryn Evans says:

      “when we are married” she drops casually into the conversation! Trish, congratulations!!!! Am a bit of a guinea fan myself – though we don’t have any at the moment….

      1. Lol! Kathy, I only just saw you reply to my post. Well, yes…I am hoping! Yes guineas are wonderful little creatures 😉

  4. You are missing the option of ‘both’. I love dogs and cats have their own personalities too. I miss Puddin but I would be lost without Dylan.

    1. V. Kathryn Evans says:

      the adjudicator says ‘either’ is the option for both. I liked it because it rhymes with neither. Never trust a poet to make a poll.

  5. Yvonne says:

    It’s got to be a dog……though we don’t have one (much to my children’s disgust!). When we do it will have to be one of these clever breeds that doesn’t shed hair! Love cats if their other peoples……couldn’t have one walking all over my kitchen worktops and sitting on my bed…..urgh!!

    1. I’m not keen on that aspect of cats climbing over every surface, either.

  6. Anne says:

    I love my Elizabeth Bennett chiween but she is insane, usually referred to as Lizzy Borden, never once smacked but if approached acts like an abused dog, cowering and rolling on her tummy acting all contrite and docile (fibber). When called, she turns her head away in a i cannot see you therefore i am invisible and cannot her you. However at night time she is the sweetest of little angels, thinking only of snuggling and cuddling.

    So onwards, have mice need a cat, so along comes the now 11 week barn kitten (free) black and white named Harley Quinn. She was upon arrival the sweetest, smallest, cuddliest kitten i have owned to date. In the past few weeks care of lizzy she has learned to snarl, bite and claw.

    Miss lizzy cannot or will not distinguish between her play toys and the kitten, can be found if not watched carrying the kitten in her mouth, and flinging the kitten across the room.

    Horrified, the yell goes up to drop the kitten (poor neighbours 1/2 mile away). Which she does while acting abused (sigh)…..pick up kitty, hug, kiss, reassure, put kitty back down, and alas kitty jumps on lizzy back digs in her claws for a fast ride around the room.

    Frankly I give up ……………………. lol, P.S. kathy i love your blogs.

    1. V. Kathryn Evans says:

      Thanks Anne! You know Lizzy may be mothering the kitten…as kitten grows, they’ll get along fine am sure…..I hope…maybe ….

  7. Jane says:

    Sorry. Cats make me a bit sneezy and are a bit snooty or scratchy. Dogs are are (well not all of them) a bit smelly and barky and require too much walking. So neither for me. Gerbils or rabbits or penguins for me!

  8. Evelyn says:

    Kathy I think you just have a black version of my yellow dog – though his predecesor was intelligent and gentle the same can not be said for this idiot who has a limited amount of words he understands unless food related. Gets a chemical imbalance as soon as some else apart from us walks in the house and won’t be calmed. I am not permitted a cat at this time but might sneek one in to the house in the near future LOL

    1. V. Kathryn Evans says:

      I think you’re right Evelyn – some how they must share genes….

  9. Lucy Coats says:

    If it comes down to it, dogs. We did have a cat when I was small, a great furry thing with much character. But they make my eyes and throat swell a bit over a prolonged period of exposure. Dogs are made–but they make me laugh at their idiocies and there’s nothing like a dog cuddle when you are sad.

    1. V. Kathryn Evans says:

      This is very true, trouble with Diesal is that he won’t sit still long enough to cuddle, he thrashes his great big head around in excitement and you end up with two black eyes.

  10. Julie Wilkie says:

    Why has noone mentioned the most important thing??? Poo-picking up!!!! Dogs are much better than cats BUT….you have to go round picking up their poo and , having done that for four children, never ever going to do it for a dog………which box was for “likes to visit the zoo occasionally?”

    1. V. Kathryn Evans says:

      LOL! I put the neither box in with you in mind x

  11. So… who won? Cats or Dogs? Or is there going to be a hung menagerie?

    1. V. Kathryn Evans says:

      Am nervous to declare in case the cats kill me in my sleep.

  12. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

    1. I agree! I’m new to blogging and reading yours, Kathy, has been a very refreshing treat.

Leave a Reply

